BFF.

I’d honestly love for someone to explain this obsession with ‘best friendships’ to me. Why do some people feel the need to affirm that they have one best friend, and one best friend only? “She’s my number one” or “this is my best friend ___”, every single time the person is brought up. Doesn’t it become tiresome, wearing your insecurities on your sleeve like that? That’s one of the reasons I assume you constantly remind us all of your best friendship – because you’re insecure in that friendship; worried that they don’t feel the same, or worried that we don’t all know. Trust me, we know. We (the we in this being me) don’t care. We’ve heard it enough times. It’s almost the end of high school, so with that end, maybe this obsession with having a best friend can also end. Sure, have your best friends. But there is no need to constantly shove your couple status in everyone else’s faces. To be honest, it looks kind of strange, two people being so co-dependent on each other they may as well enter into a marriage. Few things are more off-putting to me than being eerily similar to another person, simply because they’re my ‘best friend’.

Call me bitter, jealous, because I don’t have a best friend – sure. At this point, I don’t know if I care that much. If you’d asked me 4 years ago if I would rather one true ‘BFF’, or a group of close friends, I would have probably said one true BFF, because that’s what I felt that I had at the time. That didn’t turn out so well, and now I’d probably choose the latter. It’s good to have different people to talk to about different things – I don’t want to put all my eggs in one basket. It’s risky. People change, grow up, move on – then you’re stuck with half a heart saying “best” while someone’s run off with the half that says “friends”. Sure. Forever.

Just please, stop telling me about your best friend. They can be your soulmate, that’s awesome. My care factor is almost non-existent, and if I hear anything to this effect once more, it will finally be forced to plummet to zero. There are much more important things in the world I care about – really, most thoughts that have ever crossed my mind rank higher on my priority list than hearing you talk about how best your bestie is.

“What kind of ship never sinks? A friendship!” – Anyone who truly believes that has probably never engaged in a friendship. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but really, everything comes to an end. The sooner you all accept that your best friend will not, in fact, be your ‘Best Friend Forever’, the sooner you can start to pay equal attention to those other people who sometimes hang around. Your average ‘friends’, deemed unworthy of that super-special status. Hi.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, School

One response to “BFF.

Leave a Reply

